Book your room at Hotel Sighisoara to be part of the medieval stories we celebrate.
Our tale began a long time ago, and the building is carrying marks of nobility from 1520, when the first brick was put. It has a fascinating history like the old citadel has.
The building was first the home of a patrician and was saved from the great fire from 1676, when almost all the citadel burned down. It carried trough centuries its treasures, one of the oldest being the hunting fresco in black ink which is still alive from the Renaissance onwards.
The building was home of nobility and the most famous owner was for sure the saxon Bishop George Paul Binder (1784-1867). He was borne in Sighisoara, being educated in Latin and Greek at the citadel’s evangelic high school, continuing his studies in Cluj and Tubingen where he will specialize in theology, philosophy and philology. In 1806 he came back to Sighisoara and worked as a teacher in the School on the Hill, becoming its rector in 1821. Starting 1840 he was a priest in Saschiz and bishop in Biertan till the end of his days.
From the end of the 19th century till the middle of the 20th century the building continues to be a symbol of Sighisoara, being the city hall. Along with the harsh years of the 6th decade it is home of another story, that of the pension girls who have lived here all their emotions and stories.